well you asked.

People at my work feel the need to loudly announce where they are going during the working day. I find this disconcerting. First off, no one cares that you’re going to the bank or the post office. Second, you startled the hell out of me with your noisy announcement and the subsequent choral response from the rest of the office. Honestly, knock it off. I wanted a job, not indoctrination into a cult.

I prefer to duck in and out as unceremoniously as possible. Even when I’m leaving the office at the contractually stipulated time, I can feel everyone’s judgey little eyes on me and would really just prefer everyone pretend it’s not happening. Hiding an extra pair of shoes outside the other door so I can slip out unnoticed is a point I have not stooped to… yet. I’m not sure why, but it always feels a bit devious when I leave my desk, like I’m playing hooky even though what I’m doing outside is far more productive than what I could ever be doing whilst chained to my desk. Except said hooky doesn’t even feel devious in a “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” subversive cool sort of way.
So maybe one of these days I’ll start announcing where I am going too.  “Ladies and gentlemen, may I have your attention please. I need to drop a deuce and it’s probably going to be nasty, so I’ll just go use the shitter at the electronics store across the way instead. No, no need to thank me for my courtesy. I’m just that goddamned considerate.”
That would probably end the destination-announcing.
Leave a Reply

